New Delhi 93197 33599 l Ahmedabad 73035 33599
  1. Since inception of the e-Visa scheme in November 2014 till December 2018, a total number of 60,92,142 e-Visas have been issued to nationals of various countries.
  2. As per available information, foreign exchange earnings from tourist inflow has increased from 19.7 billion USD in the year 2014 to 31 billion USD in the year 2017. During the current year the foreign exchange earnings have been estimated to 25.838 billion USD up to November 2018.
  3. At present e-Visa scheme is available for nationals of 166 countries.
  4. The e-Visa enables the prospective visitor to apply for an Indian Visa from his/her home country online without visiting the Indian Mission and also pay the visa fee online. Once approved, the applicant receives an email authorizing him/her to travel to India and he/she can travel with a print out of this authorization. On arrival, the visitor has to present the authorization to the immigration authorities who would then stamp the entry into the country.
  5. e-Visa has been sub-divided into 3 categories i.e. e-tourist visa, e-Business visa and e-Medical visa.
  6. This facility is available to Foreigners whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sight-seeing, short duration medical treatment, casual business visit, etc. and not valid for any other purpose/activities.
  7. Applicants of the eligible countries/territories may apply online minimum 4 days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 120 days.
  8. e-Visa will be valid for 60 days stay in India from the date of arrival in India.
  9. e-Visa can be availed for maximum of two times in a calendar yeare. between January to December.
  10. The facility will encourage people to travel with short-term planning, take via routes while travelling to other countries and bring family members while on business visits.
  11. The Government of India had launched e-Visa scheme on November 27, 2014. The scheme has been extended to 165 Countries/Territories.
  12. 25 Indian airports and 5 Indian Ports have been designated for providing e-visa service.
  13. The scheme has been implemented in completely online mode with provision of pre-authorization of visa in the form of ETA (Electronic Travel Authorisation).
  14. The visa service under the scheme is being rendered in time-bound manner and decision is communicated to applicant via e-mail within 72 hours of making online application.
  15. Designated Indian Airports where e-visa holders can enter India
  16. e-Visa holders can enter India through any of the 25 designated Indian Airports – Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bagdogra, Bengaluru, Calicut, Chennai, Chandigarh, Cochin, Coimbatore, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mangalore, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum, Varanasi & Vishakhapatnami ) and 5 designated seaports (i.e. Cochin, Goa Mangalore, Mumbai and Chennai).
  17. Eligibility
    • International Travelers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short duration medical treatment or casual business visit.
    • Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.
    • International Travelers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket, with enough money to spend during his/her stay in India.
    • International Travelers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
    • Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.
    • Not available to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport i.e. everyone should have a separate passport.
    • Not available to International Travel Document Holders.