New Delhi 93197 33599 l Ahmedabad 73035 33599

1. In a stinging attack on the Rajasthan government, the Supreme Court said the State authorities are hand in glove with illegal miners who operate in the fast-depleting Aravalli region.
2. Aravali Range
a. The Aravali Range is a range of mountains in western India running approximately 692 km (430 mi) in a northeastern direction across the Indian states of Gujarat, Rajasthan, and Haryana, ending in Delhi.
b. Features
i. The Aravalli range are the oldest fold mountains in India.
ii. The northern end of the range continues as isolated hills and rocky ridges into Haryana state, ending in Delhi. The famous Delhi Ridge is the last leg of the Aravalli Range, which traverses through South Delhi and terminates into Central Delhi where Raisina hill is its last extension.
iii. It is one of the worlds’ oldest mountain ranges.It dates back to a pre-Indian subcontinental collision with the mainland Eurasian Plate.
iv. The southern end is at Palanpur near Ahmedabad, Gujarat.
v. The highest peak is Guru Shikhar in Mount Abu in Rajasthan. Rising to 5650 feet (1722 meters), it lies near the south-western extremity of the range, close to the border with Gujarat state.
vi. The city of Udaipur with its lakes lies on the south slope of the range in Rajasthan.
vii. Numerous rivers rise amidst the ranges including the Banas, Luni , Sahibi, Sakhi, and Sabarmati.
viii. Chambal and Luni are two main rivers that flow through Rajasthan.
ix. The range rose in a Precambrian event called the Aravalli-Delhi orogen. The range joins two of the ancient segments that make up the Indian craton, the Marwar segment to the northwest of the range, and the Bundelkhand segment to the southeast.
x. Old fold mountains are characterized by having stopped growing higher due to the cessation of upward thrust caused by the stopping of movement of the tectonic plates in the Earth’s crust below them. In ancient times they were extremely high but since have worn down almost completely by millions of years of weathering. In contrast, the Himalayas are continuously rising young fold mountains of today.
c. Mining
i. iron, coal, and zinc.
d. Nature reserves The following national parks, wildlife reserves and forests lie in the Aravlli range.
i. Delhi Ridge
1. Northern ridge biodiversity park
2. Yamuna biodiversity park
3. Neela Hauz biodiversity park
4. Sanjay Van
5. Sanjay Lake
6. Aravalli Biodiversity Park
7. Tilpath valley biodiversity park
8. Asola Bhatti Wildlife Sanctuary
ii. Haryana
1. Aravali Biodiversity Park, Gurgaon
2. Madhogarh biodiversity park forest
3. Nuh Aravalli biodiversity park forest
4. Satnali biodiversity park forest
5. Tosham hills range biodiversity park
6. Masani barrage wildlife area.
7. Matanhail wildlife area
8. Chhuchhakwas-Godhari wetland,
9. Khaparwas Wildlife Sanctuary,
10. Bhindawas Wildlife Sanctuary,
11. Sarbashirpur,
12. Sultanpur National Park,
13. Basai
14. Bandhwari forest
15. Mangar Bani forest
16. The Lost Lake (Gurugram).
iii. Rajasthan
1. Sariska Tiger Reserve
2. Ranthambore National Park
3. National Chambal Sanctuary
4. Phulwari ki Nal Wildlife Sanctuary
5. Sita Mata Wildlife Sanctuary
6. Todgarh-Raoli Sanctuary
7. Mount Abu Wildlife Sanctuary
8. Kumbhalgarh Wildlife Sanctuary
9. Bassi Wildlife Sanctuary
10. Jaisamand Wildlife Sanctuary
iv. Gujarat
1. Balaram Ambaji Wildlife Sanctuary
2. Jambughoda Wildlife Sanctuary
3. Jessore Sloth Bear Sanctuary