New Delhi 93197 33599 l Ahmedabad 73035 33599
  1. DRM is one of its priority areas and its Action Plan (2017-2021) has specific goals to improve resilience in IORA countries.
  2. It would strengthen cooperation in disaster response interventions, including the deployment of response teams and mobilization of relief material to affected countries.
  3. Deliberations at the meeting would also aid information exchange, the establishment of disaster database(s) and the sharing of best practices.

The Indian Ocean Rim Association

  1. Indian Ocean Rim Association is an inter-governmental organization and has many disaster-prone countries among its 22 members and nine dialogue partners.
  2. established on 7 March 1997.
  3. IORA’s apex body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (COM) which meets annually.
  4. The Republic of South Africa will assume the role of 2017-2019, followed by the United Arab Emirates.
  5. Member States
  • Comoros,
  • Bangladesh,
  • Australia,
  • India,
  • Indonesia,
  • Iran,
  • Kenya,
  • Madagascar,
  • Malaysia,
  • Mauritius,
  • Mozambique,
  • Oman,
  • Seychelles,
  • Singapore,
  • Somalia,
  • South Africa,
  • Sri Lanka,
  • Tanzania,
  • Thailand,
  • United Arab Emirates and
  • Yemen.
  • All sovereign States of the Indian Ocean Rim are eligible for membership of the Association. To become members, States must adhere to the principles and objectives enshrined in the Charter of the Association.


  1. A committee of Senior Officials (CSO) meets twice a year to progress IORA’s agenda and consider recommendations by Working Groups and forums of officials, businesses and academics to implement policies and projects to improve the lives of people within the Indian Ocean Member States.
  2. mutually beneficial regional cooperation through a consensus-based, evolutionary and non-intrusive approach.
  3. The Secretariat of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is hosted by the Government of the Republic of Mauritius
  4. Focus Areas