New Delhi 93197 33599 l Ahmedabad 73035 33599
  1. The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) said that its 29 members would clear the way for Macedonia to become the alliance’s 30th member, following its historic name change.
  2. North Macedonia.
  3. 50 m lowest point: Vardar River
  4. 2764 highest point: Golem Korab (Maja e Korabit)



  1. Members
    • At present, NATO has 29
    • In 1949, there were 12 founding members of the Alliance: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States.
    • The other member countries are: Greece and Turkey (1952), Germany (1955), Spain (1982), the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland (1999), Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia (2004), Albania and Croatia (2009), and Montenegro (2017).
    • HQ – Haren, part of the City of Brussels, Belgium
  2. What does NATO do?
    • The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an alliance of 29 countries from North America and Europe committed to fulfilling the goals of the North Atlantic Treaty signed on 4 April 1949.
    • In accordance with the Treaty, the fundamental role of NATO is to safeguard the freedom and security of its member countries by political and military means.
    • NATO is playing an increasingly important role in crisis management and peacekeeping.
  3. Does NATO have its own armed forces?
    • All member countries that participate in the military aspect of the Alliance contribute forces and equipment, which together constitute the integrated military structure of the Alliance.
    • These forces and assets remain under national command and control until a time when they are required by NATO for a specific purpose (i.e. conflict or crisis, peacekeeping).
    • NATO, however, does possess some common capabilities owned and operated by the Alliance, such as the AWACS early warning radar aircraft.
  4. What are the conditions for joining NATO? Which countries are eligible?
    • NATO has an open-door policy about enlargement.
    • Any European country in a position to further the principles of the Washington Treaty and contribute to security in the Euro-Atlantic area can become a member of the Alliance at the invitation of the North Atlantic Council.
    • Countries aspiring for NATO membership are also expected to meet certain political, economic and military goals in order to ensure that they will become contributors to Alliance security as well as beneficiaries of it.
    • NATO’s Membership Action Plan (MAP) is designed to assist aspirant partner countries in their preparations by providing a framework that enables NATO to channel assistance and practical support to them on all aspects of NATO membership.
  5. What are the official languages of NATO?
    • The two official languages of NATO are English and French.