New Delhi 93197 33599 l Ahmedabad 73035 33599
  1. Department of School Education and Literacy has launched an Integrated Scheme for School Education-Samagra Shiksha, subsuming three erstwhile Centrally Sponsored Schemes of
    1. Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA),
    2. Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA) and
    3. Teacher Education (TE), with effect from 2018-19.
  2. The new integrated scheme envisages school education as a continuum from pre-school to senior secondary level and aims to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education at all levels.
  3. The main objectives of the scheme are
    1. provision of quality education and enhancing learning outcomes of students,
    2. bridging social and gender gaps in school education,
    3. ensuring minimum standards in schooling provision,
    4. support to states in the implementation of RTE Act, 2009 and
    5. strengthening of teacher education institutions.
    6. Ensuring equity and inclusion at all levels of school education;
    7. Promoting Vocationalisation of education;
    8. Support States in the implementation of Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (RTE) Act, 2009; and
    9. Strengthening and up-gradation of SCERTs/State Institutes of Education and DIET as nodal agencies for teacher training
  4. The scheme also provides for support for upgradation of secondary schools to senior secondary level and the addition of new streams in existing senior secondary schools.